Leung Yu Hung Anskar

  • Senior Medical Research Fellowship in 2017 at University of Hong Kong
  • Fellowship in 2000 at University of Minnesota

Professor Anskar Leung Yu-hung is currently a Clinical Professor in the Department of Medicine, The University of Hong Kong (HKU).  He is also the Associate Dean (Human Capital) of the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine, HKU.  He graduated in 1996 with MBChB (Hons) and PhD from the Chinese University of Hong Kong and joined The University of Hong Kong as Clinical Assistant Professor in 1999.  He obtained his specialist qualification in Haematology and Haematological Oncology in 2003 and was promoted to Clinical Associate Professor and Clinical Professor in 2007 and 2012 respectively.  He has published more than 160 peer review articles and book chapters.      


Professor Leung's research focuses on the pathogenesis and treatment of acute myeloid leukaemia (AML), one of the most lethal cancers worldwide, and the study of hematopoiesis under normal and neoplastic conditions.  In particular, his team has developed zebrafish as a model organism for AML that has not only shed lights to the pathogenesis of AML but provided platform for screening therapeutic agents for AML treatment.   These efforts have been extended to primary AML samples from patients, resulting in identification of novel therapeutic regimen for specific AML subtypes that was shown to improve the outcome of these patients.   These observations have set a new paradigm for the personalised treatment of blood cancers.


Professor Leung is currently the Honorary Consultant of Queen Mary Hospital.  He is also the Chairman of the Examination Committee, Programme Director (Haematology and Haematological Oncology) and Council member of the Hong Kong College of Physicians (HKCP) as well as the member of the Examination Board of the Royal College of Physicians (UK) (Haematology Specialist).  He is also serving on the editorial board and as reviewer in many international journals as well as being ad hoc grant reviewer for Medical Research Council (UK), Leukemia and Lymphoma Research (USA) and Austrian Academy of Sciences.